Thread: Logistical Questions about SAO

N3wb

Default Logistical Questions about SAO

Hey there! I'm actually pretty new to Anime but I watched Sword Art Online this fall and it is probably my new favorite, competing with FMA. I just had some questions about the universe that are maybe talked about in the Light Novels which I haven't read yet. Maybe some genius knows the answers to these!

1) Are there any non-Japanese players? Meaning, are there players from other countries (I would think so... Klein sounds German after all), and if so, how did they acquire the game at the same time as its Japanese release?

2) How did distribution of the game work? In the beginning of the anime, the woman says online copies were immediately sold out... does this mean people downloaded the game onto the NerveGear or bought all online copies after they were first available for preorder? She also says "hardcore gamers" bought all the store copies and waited in line. 10,000 sounds like a relatively small number for such a seemingly anticipated launch. Was there only a limited release at first?

3) Though players could not log out of the game, could new players log in at any time (and then be subject to the same no-logout rule)? Maybe all other copies of the game were confiscated or something...?

EDIT 4) When was the NerveGear released?

Anyway, appreciate any feedback!
    Last edited by Lt_Herburger; 03-06-2013 at 04:07 AM.

One of The Followers

The only non-japanese player we know of is Agil, but he lives in Japan. Only Japanese players have the game.

The game is an actual physical copy that has to be bought. There were only 10,000 copies because that's how kayabe designed the release when he decided to trap all the players within.

Technically any on from the outside could log in to the game if they had a copy. But the narrative assumes all 10,000 copies were used on launch day.

N3wb

Great to know, thanks!

Laharl embarrassing photo danjek2003's Avatar